try small things

Boxes, books and other small things for homebodies

A monthly candle subscription box I often recommend

I’m really into my ‘Nirvana’ candle. It smells like teen spirit.

Ha ha a little candle humour for you. Summer’s officially winding down and my summer market candle is almost burned out and I’m patting myself on the back because I feel like I timed that really well, LOL (go me! ๐Ÿ˜‚). It’s from the monthly candle subscription box, Vellabox, which is a really nice gift to give yourself or someone else if you like scented candles. Plus the box comes with a little extra surprise, so that’s fun too. Here’s a little more about how it works and my Vellabox for August.

Vellabox features a different candle co. each month and all of the candles are made in small batches with 100% soy or coconut wax, primo fragrance oils and lead-free cotton wicks. The candle you get is chosen with your favourite scents in mind, which you indicate in a questionnaire when you sign up.

Thereโ€™s something to be said about how a lit candle can instantly change your mood and the whole feeling of a space. Thatโ€™s the simple inspiration behind this subscription. Subscribe to cozy living year round and a home that always smells in season.

— Vellabox

Vellabox has three subscription options:

The Lucerna Box ยท One 4 oz candle (40+ hours burn time) + one surprise gift from $12/month 

The Ignis Box ยท One 8 oz candle (80+ hours burn time) + one surprise gift from $22/month

The Vivere Box (thatโ€™s mine!) ยท One 16 oz candle (100+ hours total burn time) + one surprise gift from $29/month

Monthly, 6-month and 12-month subscriptions are available. Shipping is free on all US orders and shipping to Canada is $5/month. 

August’s surprise gift was a sunglasses case which was perfect because I have a zillion pairs of sunglasses and maybe three cases. It’s a great one too, large enough for oversized specs.

Protect your eyewear from scratches with this soft-lined glasses case. Its sleek and compact design makes it easy to slide into your bag and the magnetic pinch top keeps your glasses secure but also easily accessible.

The colour is kind of hard to make out because of the effects I used on these photos but it’s a pretty light blue that’s easy to spot in my purse.

The candle comes in a reusable cloth bag (always different patterns and colours).

I got the summer market candle by Oasis Studio Candle Co. from Woodstock, Georgia. (They made three different candles for last month’s box.) This one’s for citrus fans with notes of lemon, lime, grapefruit and greenery.

Let this effervescent aroma transport you to a sun-drenched afternoon at the Farmer’s Market, where each breath is filled with the tantalizing scent of summer fruits and fresh leafy greens.

Sounds amazing, right? It’s one of those softer scents you can burn any time of day. I get the fruits more than the greens but maybe you would?

Each box includes a product card with a QR code for the month’s playlist. It’s on Spotify if you want to listen to it. (You have to be a Spotify member but not a Vellabox subscriber.)

And that’s my August Vellabox! If you’re thinking about trying it out and have any questions or comments, let me know! If I don’t have the answers I’ll try to get them for you.

Have you tried Vellabox? What kind of scents are your jam?

Vellabox sent me their August box in exchange for an honest review.

๏ปฟ

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.